Railway vehicles

Railway vehicles

EN 15085:2007

With respect to the railway environment the standard series EN 15085:2007 specifies certification and quality requirements placed on the manufacturers that use welding in connection with the manufacturing of new structures and in connection with repairs. The standard series provides interconnection between output requirements specified for the structure, inevitability to have adequate quality of weldments in the course of the manufacturing process and the subsequent applications of the required types of quality control in production.

Welding railway vehicles EN 15085-2:

Railway application welding railway vehicles and their parts - Part 2:

Requirements concerning quality and certification of the manufacturer in connection with welding. The series of standards apply to the welding of metal material in connection with the manufacturing and maintenance of railway vehicles and their parts, specify certification levels and requirements concerning manufacturers as regards welding, and describe verification procedures to be used by manufacturers in the welding processes.

Necessary classification within EN 15085-2:2007

Kind of product in relation to the certification level

Four certification levels (CL) (levels 1 to 4) are specified for certification of the manufacturer. Particular certification levels further specify corresponding classes of weldment execution (CP A - CP D) of welded joints specified in EN 15085-3:2007.

Certification levels:
- CL 1 - this level applies to the manufacturers that produce welded parts of railway vehicles or their welded parts with welded joints with the class of weldment execution CP A to CP D (certification level Cl 2 and CL 4 is involved).
- CL 2 - this level applies to the manufacturers that produce welded parts of railway vehicles with welded joints with the class of weldment execution CP C2 to CP D (welded joints classified with the class of execution CP C1 are involved if these weldments are checked in accordance with the check class CT 1).
- CL 3 - this level applies to the manufacturers that produce welded parts of railway vehicles with welded joints with the class of weldment execution CP D.
- CL 4 - this level applies to the manufacturers that do not weld railway vehicles or their parts but that design or purchase railway vehicles and their sets or distribute them (certification for welding work is not required as regards certification level CL 3).

Class of weldment quality

Must be determined at the phase of the design depending on the safety category and the category of stress, practicability and feasibility of weldment is important. Welded joints are divided into six classes of weldment execution (CP A, CP B, CP C1, CP C2, CP C3, CP D), which are directly related to the class of weĺdment testing and checking.

Class of weldment testing

Class of checking (CT 1, CT 2, CT 3, CT 4) used for every welded joint is determined depending on the class of the execution of the weldment determined already in the design of the part. Classes of checking are used for identification of various kinds and minimum levels of checks of welded joints such as volume tests (RT, UT), surface tests (MT, PT) and a visual inspection of weldment which is always one-hundred percent.

Welding staff qualification

The manufacturer must have welding staff with qualification in accordance with EN 287-1 or EN ISO 9606-2 or EN 1418. This qualification must be provided by a certified testing organisation or a particular testing body. A welding supervisor must have sufficient technical knowledge in accordance with EN ISO 14731 and at the same time the supervisor must have at least three-year experience as a welding supervisor over railway vehicle welding. For the purposes of this standard three levels (A, B, C) are specified for welding supervisors.

Welding production management system

in accordance with ISO 3834:2005 & EN 15085-2:2007 is a key factor as a company management system owing to which the management can adopt proper strategic decisions about production innovation, changes in processes in order to improve quality, but most of all it proves professional and technical qualification of the manufacturer in connection with railway industry.

Contact us

Jan 15 2019 12:00AM ISO 45001

We are pleased to announce that we are accredited for the standard ISO 45001 Occupational health and safety.

Sep 1 2018 12:00AM ISO 9001 a ISO 14001

The ISO 9001: 2008 and ISO 14001: 2004 certification standards expire on September 15, 2018. Certificates and certification logos of these standards can not be used Since this date . LL-C offers a new accredited ISO 9001: 2015 or 14001: 2015 certification.

older news